Positive Parenting

It’s so important for parents to live a positive lifestyle. Kids learn though observation and imitation. This means kids learn and act according to your behaviors and actions. They imitate your behaviors, actions and attitudes. You are their role model. You can overpower the media.

A lot of our personality traits are learned. This is good news. This means your children can learn positive personality traits such as: respect for themselves and others, kindness, patience, empathy, sympathy, etc.

The best preventive method we can use with our kids is to live a positive, happy lifestyle.

If your children see you happy and treating others with respect and kindness, they will follow suit. If your loving and caring, they will see that and follow your example.

The questions below will help you become aware of your daily actions. Use these questions for at least a week to learn about you and your behaviors/actions.  Learn what changes you need to make to be a great role model and to have a happy home.

Remember, Happy Parents = Happy kids!

1. How many negative statements did I say today? Ex: I can’t wear these pants I’m too fat.

2. How many curse words did I use today?

3. How many negative actions did I show today? Ex: How many times did I roll my eyes when someone was talking to me. Kids watch non-verbal behaviors. As parents watch what you say and do!

4. How many times did I have an attitude today?

5. How many times did I not explain what I was feeling to my kids? Did I yell, discipline or punish them without explaining why? Did I use the terms: because I’m the adult, Because I said so, Because I’m mom/dad, etc. It’s ok to discipline, punish or even raise your voice to your child BUT you need to explain why your upset/mad, why you punished them so they understand. This will help them not to repeat the same negative actions over and over again.

6. Did I show love today? How did I act towards my spouse and kids? Did I give a hug? a kiss? Parents, if you’re not loving and kind to each other, the children will see this.

7. Are your behaviors consistent? Consistency, routine and schedules are the best ways to prevent discipline issues. As parents we need to learn to do what we say. Ex: If as a parent, I say no snacks before dinner then I must follow the rule for it to stick and for it to have any meaning to the kids.

8. Watch your environment. Are you bringing toxic people into your home? Kids learn through their parents and community.

Positive Parents = Positive kids!

About Finding your happiness

Diane Lang is a Therapist, educator, author and life coach. Diane has two books: Baby steps the path from motherhood to Career and Creating balance & finding happiness. Diane works as a Therapist and also is an adjunct at Montclair State University. This blog will help educate and empower you to live your best life! For more information please visit her website: www.dlcounseling.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

