The real threat to pharma industries

The real threat to Pharma Industries

 

Almost a year ago I was forced into a lifestyle change due to an illness. At the time, I could have never seen the health benefits of this change. At the time, I was so angry and scared that I didn’t think much of the positives just of what my new lifestyle was taking away from me.

Almost a year later and I cant believe how these changes affected me in such a positive manner. A year ago I was not in good shape, I needed to lose a few pounds. I had cycstic acne on my chin that they kept saying was hormones; I had insomnia, fatigue especially during the late afternoons and mood swings. I also caught frequent colds, sore throats and anything else I could catch at work or from my daughter – I had a low immune system.

I thought this was just life. I worked and had a family and with that came feelings of being overwhelmed and anxiety. I thought this was normal. When I hit 40 and started feeling very stressed out, I thought it was all hormone based, the mid-life cycle was here.

I would go from doctor to doctor and received different tests, blood work and prescriptions for various medicines. Not once was I asked how I treated myself. Was my basic needs met?

We have become a society of instant gratification and taking the easy way out. So medicines were great, it would relieve or mask the symptoms for short term but in the long run the vicious cycle of feeling bad would return.

My wake up call came a year ago when all of a sudden I had couldn’t swallow my own salvia. I couldn’t eat or drink water most of the time. During those two months I lost a total of 26 pounds and still had no diagnosis. Finally a few weeks later, the diagnosis was found and confirmed. I had an extreme case of LPR which meant I had burns all over my throat and from there the lifestyle changes occurred due to no choice of my own. As I said in the beginning I was actually angry about the changes. No more Caffeine, Chocolate( which I ate everyday), no more dairy, foods with more then 3 grams of fat, spicy or Cajun food, spaghetti sauce, fruit or alcohol. I felt like my whole life was over. How would I socialize again and enjoy going out for dinner.

I went through my anger stage but then I hit the point of acceptance which was the start of my changes. Before, I could do any lifestyle changes in the nutrition and cardio department I needed to heal spiritually first.

For everyone, who is going through an illness or tragedy, you need to heal your soul before any other changes can happen or it will be completely short term.

This is where my journey begins.

I started my spiritual journey by acceptance. I realized I couldn’t change or control my situation and by fighting it, asking why me, blaming myself or others I was just making it worse. I was adding so much stress/anxiety to my life; I was prescribed zanax and klonipin to help. As a therapist I knew there was a better way. (I’m not a big fan of meds if you can heal naturally)

The day of acceptance started a routine of daily meditation. When I silenced myself, I realized I actually was healthier then I thought. I could breathe. I could control my breathing and relax. Relaxation became a goal. I had no other goal or expectation with meditation but to just relax and silence my mind. When you meditate try not to have any judgment or expectations but to clear your mind and relax. There is no right or wrong. One of the easiest ways to meditate is to follow a CD or video with earphones where they guide you through. After awhile, it becomes easier and easier to do it yourself. I now meditate at least 15-30 minutes a day. If I don’t meditate I realize I’m cranky. It’s funny how things have changed: It used to be without a cup of coffee I was cranky now that I’m caffeine/coffee free its meditation that I need- what a healthy change!

The next thing on my journey to health was asking myself the dreaded question: Are your basic needs met?

I always told my clients to keep a “Journal of truth” for a week. Write down what they eat, how much water they drink, how much sleep they get, exercise and vitamins. After a week of honesty in your journal, you can usually tell why someone is feeling drained, exhausted and unhappy. From this journal, you can make the changes needed.

For me, I knew it was an overall change and I went drastic but again this is not for everyone. I needed to for health reasons but for others it can be baby steps.

I did the following changes: No more caffeine, chocolate, dairy, spicy food, and fruit except for melons, alcohol, candy, soda, fruit juices, cake or meat. I don’t eat anything that has any acid, preservatives or chemicals in it. If I can’t understand the nutrition label on the box I don’t eat it. I have gone pretty much organic because organic foods don’t have acid in it. Do I still eat sugar yes but only if its pure cane sugar.

Was this hard? Absolutely. I used to eat chocolate at least once or twice a day. I had your basic withdrawal symptoms – cravings, mood swings, irritable, etc.

I added gratitude checks every morning. After I meditate, I do a gratitude check. I tell myself what I’m grateful for. Sometimes the only thing I can think of is that I’m grateful I woke up this morning but other times my list in plentiful.

I added a prayer time for others. I pray for a few people each morning. Again sometimes it’s for one person other times the list is long.

At night, I follow a Wayne Dyer rule. Dr. Dyer says before you go to bed, your last 5 minutes is so important. You can go to bed with good or bad thoughts.The choice is yours. I never want to go to sleep with negative thoughts. So, not matter what my day brings I make sure my last five minutes are positive whether it’s a gratitude check, a prayer or remembering a good memory.

I added walking every morning. I was so weak from losing so much weight and muscle mass quickly that all I could do was walk about 5-10 minutes a day I never judged the times, it was the effort. I’m now up to 30 minutes or longer and some weight training.

After all these changes which are all habits now (good ones). I can honestly say I feel great!

This will be a huge problem for the Pharma companies. I no longer need medicine whether its prescription or over the counter. My doctor visits have dwindled to my yearly visit instead of every season or more.

With all these new habits, I no longer have cystic acne, I sleep better then I ever have, no more hot flashes, cramping, bloating, stomach aches, period pain, aches and pain or fatigue. The amazing part for me was I don’t ever feel tired. I eat less and have no caffeine but yet I don’t ever feel tired during the day. How? I upped my water intake.  I drink close to a gallon of water a day.

I have the burns on my throat that are almost healed but besides that I have had no colds, sore throats, headaches, aches and pain, fatigue, flu like symptoms, etc in a year.

It is completely amazing what we can do to prevent illness. We have the power and it doesn’t take much.

Add spirituality to your life by acceptance, gratitude, meditation and forgiveness.

Eat healthy, pure and clean foods with plenty of water.

Add exercise to your day, make it simple if you want – all we need to do is walk!

Give it some time and patience and before you know it you will feel great!

Sorry Big Pharma I don’t need you anymore.

 

 

About Finding your happiness

Diane Lang is a Therapist, educator, author and life coach. Diane has two books: Baby steps the path from motherhood to Career and Creating balance & finding happiness. Diane works as a Therapist and also is an adjunct at Montclair State University. This blog will help educate and empower you to live your best life! For more information please visit her website: www.dlcounseling.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

