Can we have it all?

Can we have it all? But would you want it?

Not every woman wants everything. It’s determining what’s important to us? What are our priorities?

I don’t even know if this means a sacrifice. If your value system is being met and you’re happy don’t you have it all?

Maybe it’s time to re-invent the American dream for women

Is it really – Bringing home the bacon, frying it in a pan and being a great wife? Everyone will have a different answer because we all have a different definition of success and having it all.

For some women working part-time and having a family is having it all. They get the best of the both worlds. Time with their kids and time to make some money and feel productive.

For some women its working full time and having dad stay home with the kids.

Isn’t it always the grass is greener on the other side? So, truly would we ever be fully happy with so many options? As a working mom, I always heard a mix. Some moms wished they worked outside the home while some are happy being that stay at home mom.

For me as a working mom, I never felt that mommy guilt from working. I felt I showed my daughter the reality of having it all for me. I taught her good work ethic but more importantly I taught her that being your true self is the best. If I’m being true to myself then I will be happier and if I’m happy, I will be a better mom and person. Which makes me a great role model. This makes me think I have it all according to my values.

So, part of the problem of having it all , is looking at what others have and wanting it. Why don’t we try to be our authentic selves so we feel that we have it all or at least have everything we wanted to have and stop Keeping up with the jones.

Start by asking yourself the following questions:

What is your values sytem? If you don’t know then ask yourself what would be your mission statement in Life?

What are your priorities? Write a list

What does your American dream look like? YOUR American dream. Doesnt have to be what society expects.

Why do I look at others like they have it all? Its time to stop comparing yourself to others and do what is best for you.

About Finding your happiness

Diane Lang is a Therapist, educator, author and life coach. Diane has two books: Baby steps the path from motherhood to Career and Creating balance & finding happiness. Diane works as a Therapist and also is an adjunct at Montclair State University. This blog will help educate and empower you to live your best life! For more information please visit her website: www.dlcounseling.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

