My best new habit- small ways to make a difference in your life

The best habit I started in mid-life was my gratitude checks. They have become a staple of my morning and night routine. The first thing I do when I wake up in the morning is to ask myself:

What am I grateful for today?

it could be as simple as: I woke up or the sun is shining. This starts my day with my best foot forward. At night, I ask myself the question:

What am I grateful for ?

Its very important to go to bed with positive thoughts floating in your head. Whatever your thinking in the last 15-20 minutes before bed will affect your sleep and what mood you wake up in.  

Gratitude checks was a conscious decision and to be honest I did it out of of desperation.  This was a time, I thought I had entered the mid life crisis we hear about so often. I felt completely lost. Reality hit, I always thought by age 40 I would be in a different spot in my life. I expected my life to be perfect by now and when it wasn’t, I felt completely disappointed in myself. I needed a way to change my perspective on my life and the choices I made. I realized I can’t change my past but I could see it differently. One of the best ways to change your perspective is by seeing what you have, not what you don’t have. I hate to sound cliche but it’s seeing your glass half full not half empty.

Gratitude allows you to do this with some extra bonuses with it. Gratitude is a form of meditation so it helps to reduce stress. When done at bedtime, it helps with insomnia. It helps boost your mood. Gratitude has become my miracle drug. My gratitude checks are now a habit and have changed my life. 

My suggestion is try it. Each day do a gratitude check in the morning and night and after a few weeks, check in with yourself and see how your feeling? You will be suprised by the results!

 

About Finding your happiness

Diane Lang is a Therapist, educator, author and life coach. Diane has two books: Baby steps the path from motherhood to Career and Creating balance & finding happiness. Diane works as a Therapist and also is an adjunct at Montclair State University. This blog will help educate and empower you to live your best life! For more information please visit her website: www.dlcounseling.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My best new habit- small ways to make a difference in your life

  1. anne says:

    I so love all your comments are so full of hope

  2. Sharon says:

    sounds like a good plan. need to discipline yourself to do it! thanks Diane.

Leave a Reply

