Squashing the bad moods

Squash the bad moods

 

This afternoon just like many others before, I was in a bad mood and couldn’t figure out why. My normal pattern is to dwell in, overanalyze it and then get upset when I come up empty handed. This time I decided to take some of the advice I give out as a therapist. I found myself  starting the vicious cycle and broke it by deciding to take some action.

I went out for a walk. No expectation type of walk. I didn’t need to go a certain distance or at a specific speed. My only goal was to get out of my rut.

I decided to clear my mind by using my senses and noticing what was around me. It was a beautiful day. The sky was so blue, not one cloud in the sky. The trees and grass were a deep dark green.  I used my senses, the air smelled so clean and the breeze seemed to have the power to wash away my stress.

Before I left for the walk, I drank a nice cool glass of water and then brought a water bottle with me that tasted so refreshing.  I didn’t even realize my basic needs weren’t met. When we are stressed out we tend to let our needs go by the wayside. If your feeling blah or in a bad mood, always take a check of your basic needs sometimes that’s all that is wrong. We need more self-care

I took a mindful walk – I concentrated on my breathing. I didn’t concentrate on my thoughts, I pushed them aside by taking deep breaths. I pushed all the stress out with each exhale.

There wasn’t anything special I did but that’s what made it special. Its easier then we know to change our moods. A lot of times we get caught up in the process – We start to think about what happen, analyze it then re-analyze it, talk to others about my feelings, etc. Don’t get me wrong that is needed at time but other times just changing your cycle is enough!

 

About Finding your happiness

Diane Lang is a Therapist, educator, author and life coach. Diane has two books: Baby steps the path from motherhood to Career and Creating balance & finding happiness. Diane works as a Therapist and also is an adjunct at Montclair State University. This blog will help educate and empower you to live your best life! For more information please visit her website: www.dlcounseling.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

