An illness can change your life for the better

I woke up today and had an AHA Moment! For the past year or so my whole life has been different due to an illness. This illness took over my life. I was depressed about it, I was scared and angry. I had to make so many changes just to live.  I wasn’t willing to give up so I made these changes but I fought it most of the way. Then one day I woke up and decided to let go and accept. I just couldn’t fight it anymore. I wasn’t winning the game of trying to control something I had no control over. This was making me frustrated, angry and depressed. One day that switch in my head went off and I realized I had control over my choice. My choice was to live and to live a healthy, happy lifestyle, the changes began that day.

Its a little over a year later and I’m doing much better. Everything that was a negative has become a positive.

I’m on a strict alkaline diet which I resisted at first BUT now a year later I’m healthy and I mean healthy – no colds, flu’s, sinus problems, PMS, Bloating, etc. All the extra money spent on Real, Good food has been worth it. I was upset paying more for food and driving far to a whole foods or Trader Joes but now I can see the pay off.  I don’t need aspirin, allergy medicine or doctor appointments. So, the pay off is HUGE!!!

Keeping my weight low is no longer an issue – I will stay a good weight because my lifestyle has changed. No more counting calories or fat, no more feeling bloated from eating too much processed, greasy or fattening food.

My good habits have been passed down to my husband and daughter. There is not much unhealthy food anymore. The snacks are even healthier. So through my illness I became a better role model for my daughter and helped educate my family on being healthy while keeping them healthy.

My energy levels are high naturally. Who would of realized you don’t need caffeine or sugar to feel energetic.Water does the trick for me

Mood swings – those are almost a thing of the past. I don’t have moods due to PMS or sugar/caffeine highs and lows. My basic needs are met. I’m not saying I don’t have bad days but they are from outside circumstances not due to my basic needs not being met. As a Therapist, I have seen many clients whose bad moods/mood swings are due to basic needs so always make sure they are met.

I created a spiritual practice that has helped shape my life and was done due to desperation which is now a habit! I wake up to my gratitude check, followed by prayers, set my intention and meditation. People ask how long this takes ( people assume they don’t have the time) but honestly gratitude and prayers take less then 2 -3 minutes. Setting an intention less then 1 minute. Meditation is up to you. I do about 10-15 minutes a day but just doing 2-5 minutes is good. Or pick your own daily spiritual practice, it doesn’t matter what you do or for how long, there is no wrong or right but just know it will naturally distress you and retrain your brain for positive.

Overall happiness is up! I feel in control of my health. I see the results mentally, physically, emotionally and spirituality and if you would of told me this a year ago I would of never believed you. Sometimes you have to look back to see how far forward you have moved.

About Finding your happiness

Diane Lang is a Therapist, educator, author and life coach. Diane has two books: Baby steps the path from motherhood to Career and Creating balance & finding happiness. Diane works as a Therapist and also is an adjunct at Montclair State University. This blog will help educate and empower you to live your best life! For more information please visit her website: www.dlcounseling.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An illness can change your life for the better

  1. anne says:

    Thanks for sharing good points

Leave a Reply

