Monday Challenge – Building a spiritual practice

Monday Challenge – Building a spiritual practice

  

    

    
I started last week with the first 8 steps towards creating your spiritual practice. I hope you were as excited about this challenge as I ‘am.

This week I’m giving you more tips to keep you on your spiritual journey. Let me know how your doing?
 
Spiritual practice
 
1. Do I clear the mental clutter at  least once a day by quieting my mind through various techniques like meditation, deep       breathing, focusing on the present moment, being in nature, etc.
 
2. Do I observe the beauty all around me at any given time. In the fall we can notice the leaves falling, the different colors on the trees, feel the breeze in on our faces, feel the crispness in the air, etc.
 
3. Do I pay attention and enjoy the simple things in my life that bring me happiness on a daily basis such as the cuteness of my pet, the laughter of our kids, the first cup of coffee, seeing the sun shine through your window when you wake up, etc.
 
4. Do I pay it forward on a daily basis? each random act of kindness brings joy to others but also gives the giver a boost of happiness. What a win-win for everyone!
 
5. Gratitude – do I remind myself of all I have and feel the appreciation with it?
 
6. What do I eat? Am I putting healthy foods into my body? ” We are what we eat” is so true. Keep a food journal for a week and see what you eat and remember to be honest! You can really get an idea of why your body       is running well or not by what your feeding it. Remember, your soul is protected by your body – treat it well!
 
7. Are you an inspiration/role models to others? Not just our own kids but everyone around you. Do you portray the type of person people feel inspired by?
 
8. You can stop the search for God/universe/higher power/source and instead remind yourself that its already within you and is all around you.       
 
For more information please visit Diane’s website at: www.dlcounseling.com
or email Diane at Lifeline36@aol.com
 
I love to get your questions and hear your thoughts/comments please        keep in touch!
 
 Workshops
Wednesday, October 9, 6pm – I Am Enough Warren  Community College, NJ Telephone – 908-835-2333   Thursday,    
October 10, 6pm – What Kind of Smart Are You? Hofstra University, Long Island Telephone – 516-463-7200  
Saturday,     October 12, 10am – Living Your Best Life, the Second Half Brookdale Community College, NJ Telephone –     732-224-2303 
  Wednesday, October 16, 7pm – Re-Entering  the WorkforceA Free Workshop Berkeley  Heights Public Library, NJ Telephone –     908-464-9333  
Thursday, October 17, 7pm – What Kind of  Smart Are You? Ramsey Community School, NJ Telephone –     201-327-2025
October 17 & 24 at 1pm – Living your best life series-     “Free Workshop”
Montville Public Library, NJ
Telephone -973-402-0900 ext 227   Friday, October 18th     – Grief – “Free workshop” Oakville Senior Center,     CT Telephone – 860-945-5250  
Monday, October 21,6:30pm –   Declutter Your Life and Reduce Stress Brookdale  Community College, NJ Telephone – 732-224-2303  
Wednesday,  October 23, 7pm – Declutter Your Life and Reduce     Stress Ramsey Community School, NJ Telephone –     201-327-2025  
Thursday, October 24, 6pm – Declutter Your Life and Reduce Stress Warren Community College, NJ Telephone     – 908-835-2333
  Saturday, October 26, 10am – Declutter  Your Life and Reduce Stress Union County College, NJ Telephone – 907-709-7601  
Monday, October 28, 7pm –  Letting Go of Anger Westfield Adult School,  NJ Telephone –   908-232-4050
About Finding your happiness

Diane Lang is a Therapist, educator, author and life coach. Diane has two books: Baby steps the path from motherhood to Career and Creating balance & finding happiness. Diane works as a Therapist and also is an adjunct at Montclair State University. This blog will help educate and empower you to live your best life! For more information please visit her website: www.dlcounseling.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday Challenge – Building a spiritual practice

  1. D. says:

    I do not want to sound… well, stupid, becouse this may be obvious for the Author an some of the Readers… but working on your spirit is as hard as working on your body or mind. I didn’t even know it, unless I tried simple breathing meditation. It is still almost impossible for me not to think and simply quiet the galop of thoughts through my head for more than 5 minutes. So thanks for the post, developing the spirit is not so obvious and easy path 🙂

    • I agree with you it’s just like working on your body or mind. Quieting your mind is tough for a lot of people try a guided meditation. Put some headphones on and just relax. It kind of does the work for you.
      There are many ways to be spiritual so try all the other ways and add in meditation slowly. There is no judgement, right or wrong way. It is just being.
      Thanks for writing and sharing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

