Re-defining success

Re-defining success- Monday challenge

With the New year right around the corner, we start thinking about  starting fresh, a new chance for a new you. We start asking the question: What  changes should I make? This is all good BUT we can start our changes, new  goals/lifestyles anytime we want. There is no reason to wait for the New year  and put some much hope on one day of the year – January 1st. Every  day is a new day, a fresh start to make any changes you want.

The way to make changes is to Re-define success- what is  success?

Everyone has a different definition of success.

Here is Dictionary.com’s definition of success:

 “The  accomplishment of an aim or purpose.”

This is a great definition because it leaves “YOU” the  ability to figure out what you want to accomplish not the rules set by  society, your parents, friends, etc. Its all up to you.

To start your changes, you need to  decide:

1. What is your aim and purpose? 

2. What do you want to  accomplish?

3. What goals both short and long term can I set up to  accomplish this?

4. What skills, abilities do I need to accomplish this  goal?

5. What can I do today? This week? Month? To get these  skills, abilities to get moving forward on my  goals?

 This is a great way to get started whether it’s today or  January 1st.

There are also other ways to define success. They are the  small things we forget to look at but if we did we would view every day as a  success.

 10 ways to determine success daily 

1. Did I make good choices today? Did I stick to my values?

2. Did I take responsibility for my actions? Did I not  play the victim?

3. Did I take action towards my goals today no matter the  outcome?

4. Did I learn a lesson from a negative situation or  event?

5. Did I not repeat the same mistake again because I  learned from it?

6. Did I stop the negative self-talk in my head? Did I  stop the inner critic just by being aware of that negative voice in my  head.

7. Did I pay it forward  today?

8. Did I notice I was being negative and change the  situation by changing my perspective?

9. Did I get back up when I fell down today? Just getting  back up is a success!

10. Did I show self-compassion, kindness and patience  towards myself? Did I realize just making the effort and going towards my dreams  is success?

Remember, your success isn’t determined by what happens  each day – its looking at the big picture. I might have bad days, weeks or even  months but in the end did I reach my goal or find a better goal for myself?  That’s what is important. So always keep the big picture in mind. In the  meanwhile look at your mall success by asking yourself the 10 questions above.  We can have small and big successes each and every day.

For more information please visit Diane’s webiste: www.dlcounseling.com or email Diane at lifeline36@aol.com

Diane Lang, MA, Therapist, Educator and Life Coach  Diane Lang has dedicated her career to helping people turn their lives around  and is now on a mission to help them develop a sustainable positive attitude  that can actually turn one into an optimist, literally. A therapist and educator  of Positive Psychology, she has seen that it can provide a strong foundation for  finding great happiness and is gratified that it is becoming a mainstream method  of treatment.

A parent herself, Lang has taught Positive Parenting to  parents and written extensively on the benefits of using it with even the  youngest children. She has also spoken or conducted seminars on postpartum  depression, striving for balance versus having it all and practical tips on  interviewing, networking and dressing for success and is the author of “Baby  Steps: the Path from Motherhood to Career.”

A life coach at Discovery psychotherapy center in Morristown,  NJ, Her clinical experience includes treating patients with different forms  of mental illness, physical and emotional abuse and relationship issues. Lang is  also an Adjunct Professor in Psychology at Montclair State University; her  college work includes mentoring students for individual career counseling and  personal issue advisement.

As an expert in her fields of therapy, Lang has been featured in the Daily  Record and Cookie Magazine, seen on NJ 12 TV, Good Morning CT, Better CT, CT  Style and the national television program “Fox & Friends”. She has also  participated in a reality based Internet show, ourprisoner.com, hosted  Generation X-tinet and appeared in various educational videos. In addition Lang  writes a blog at pazoo.com.

Lang has an M.A. in Counseling and a B.A. in Liberal Arts from the New York  Institute of Technology. Please visit her website for more information:  www.dlcounseling.com

About Finding your happiness

Diane Lang is a Therapist, educator, author and life coach. Diane has two books: Baby steps the path from motherhood to Career and Creating balance & finding happiness. Diane works as a Therapist and also is an adjunct at Montclair State University. This blog will help educate and empower you to live your best life! For more information please visit her website: www.dlcounseling.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Re-defining success

  1. Pingback: The Benefits of Determination | lynnsblogs

  2. rupacoach says:

    Reblogged this on Resilience Life Coach.

Leave a Reply

