What my illness taught me

 

 
twitter
 
  facebook
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
http://youtu.be/njzpVqMhmlk

Watch Diane’s Latest TV Appearance. A discussion of the serious pitfalls of depression, as well as, the things people can do to help themselves feel better.

 

What my illness taught me:
 
1. My illness allowed me to be more open to hope, new possibilities, awe and wonderment. These are positive daily emotions that we need to live a   healthy, happy and longer life.
 
2. My illness opened me to a spiritual path that I couldn’t see before my illness. It taught me to slow down and do one thing at a time. I live in the   present not knowing what my future can bring but learning from my past.
 
3. My illness opened me to gratitude – the desire to appreciate life fully and to see what I have that’s right in front of me.
 
4. My illness taught me to love and be loved fully. My illness taught me I needed help and that I couldn’t make it through alone. I learned it was ok   to risk showing love and accepting love.
 
5. My illness gave me the courage to sit in silence by myself and face my fears. It gave me the power to show my true self to the outside world.
 
6. I learned that death was no longer my biggest fear- living was! I learned there is no perfect life and that we all live with making mistakes. Life is a process and there is no right or wrong. Stop judging yourself.
 
7. I have learned what its like to really let go and accept. I accepted I   had an illness BUT by letting go and accepting I had my illness put   me back in control.
 
8. I knew life would never be the same no matter what anyone said. I was   forever changed BUT I looked at my new life as a second birth, a fresh start.   
I also realized I wasn’t so scared of the change but instead I was   excited. I had formed a new perspective on “Change” Change was no longer such   a scary concept.
 
9. I found out that healing is way more then physical and I that I would  stay sick if I didn’t change my thoughts and lack of faith in myself.
 
10. I learned that I was way more then my physical shell that my   soul/spirit was a real part of me. This didn’t take away the importance of my   physical shell, it needed plenty of care but I realized so did my spirit. That  I was a balance of body-mind-soul.
 
 
11. My illness will be with me forever there is no cure and I’m ok with   it. I have totally accepted my illness as part of me BUT it doesn’t define me.   I’m so much more then my illness but it gave me permission to share with   others and help others heal. My illness gave me a foundation of hope and   inspiration to live. My illness was truly a miracle, a wake-up call to truly   live life. Don’t wait for an illness or tragedy to start living.
About Finding your happiness

Diane Lang is a Therapist, educator, author and life coach. Diane has two books: Baby steps the path from motherhood to Career and Creating balance & finding happiness. Diane works as a Therapist and also is an adjunct at Montclair State University. This blog will help educate and empower you to live your best life! For more information please visit her website: www.dlcounseling.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What my illness taught me

  1. Jennifer says:

    This is a great list, and very similar to mine, if I ever took the time to write it out. Thank you for sharing it!

Leave a Reply

