Mindfulness

Mindfulness:
By: Diane Lang
Mindfulness sometimes just pops up on me. I was watching a segment on animal planet about a dog and his owner saying goodbye. I usually shut these types of programs off because they bring up so much sadness and a memory from another chapter of my life that still brings me sadness and pain. I still have an emotional connection to this time of my life and have never fully healed. This time when the segment started, my inner voice told me to watch the program and to stay in the moment and be mindful/aware of my feelings.

I usually don’t do this, but this time, I listened to my inner voice and stayed mindful and I cried. A long cry for me ( I usually don’t cry). For me, this was a release, a release I didn’t even know I needed. After I cried I had a feeling of relief and peacefulness.
This taught me that mindfulness reminds us to feel more even if those feelings are painful. It reminded me that at the end of all those emotions, there is peace and a sense of calm.
When a feeling comes up, don’t run away from it, try to avoid it or preoccupy yourself, the feeling will rear its ugly head eventually. If we continue to push and avoid our feelings we never get the chance to heal. We need to feel to heal!
Mindfulness will not let you ignore what you need. Mindfulness is a reminder to pay attention to what your feeling and ask yourself what are my emotions trying to tell me? What do I need?
There is a reason for all of our feelings and we need to pay more attention to them.

After you had a moment of mindfulness and clarity, you will feel relaxed and/or drained. Pay attention to what your body needs after the emotional release. You might need some time alone or even a nap. You will be in a state of non-judgment and clear thinking. Take advantage of this time to sit for a few minutes and pay attention to your thoughts. Take the time to be Mindful!

About Finding your happiness

Diane Lang is a Therapist, educator, author and life coach. Diane has two books: Baby steps the path from motherhood to Career and Creating balance & finding happiness. Diane works as a Therapist and also is an adjunct at Montclair State University. This blog will help educate and empower you to live your best life! For more information please visit her website: www.dlcounseling.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

