Searching for your “AHA” Moment

Searching For Your “AHA!” Moment:
By: Diane Lang 

When I’m having a bad day, I can find myself trying to find an “aha!” moment. Something that will make things click, that will make sense of this bad day and let me know that everything I’m doing is worth it. It is looking for a sign. A sign that I’m on the right path. A sign that all this hard work is not a waste of time and I will see the big picture a few years from now.
What I realized soon enough was, this search for enlightenment and purpose is a little game I play with myself because it gives me hope. Just the search for the “aha!” moment gives me hope that I will find it. The search gives me a feeling that there is something more. Sometimes I find the sign/enlightenment by surprise and other times I keep searching for it until a song, book, video, a friend, etc. leads me to what I was looking for. Sometimes it’s right in front of my eyes and I just can’t see it yet.
I realize that if I go on the search, the “aha!” moment will eventually show. This game I created, I consider a good habit because it brings me hope, excitement, motivation and enlightenment. Yesterday was one of those days. I was on the train to NYC for a speaking gig, I was thinking of my bad week and looking for a “aha!” moment/sign and it truly makes a difference. I open up this book which a student has given me as a gift (which should of been enough of a sign but I need the sign to slap me inside of my head to get it). I had the book for a few weeks but haven’t had time to read it. However, this time on the train, I open the book to read it and inside the front cover, is this beautiful letter written to me on why she gave me this gift and the sign was clear! Sometimes the sign is right on front of you, but you have to open your eyes and heart to see it.
Search for the sign, ask for it and then be open to receiving it, because sometimes it’s right in front of you and you just needed to start the search to see it.

OCTOBER 2016
Wednesday, October 13, 7pm – Positive Psychology
Union County College, NJ
Phone: 908-709-7601
Monday, October 17, 7pm – Follow Your Passions
Montclair Adult School, NJ
Phone: 973-744-0500 ext 2224
Tuesday, October 18, 7pm – Finding Your Happiness
Morris Hills Adult School, NJ
Phone: 973-664-2295
Wednesday, October 19, 6:30pm – Re-train Your Brain for Happiness
Hofstra University, NY
Phone: 516-463-7200
Monday, October 24, 7pm – Positive Psychology
Westfield Adult School, NJ
Phone: 973-443-9222
Tuesday, October 25, 7pm – What Kind of Smart Are You?
Morris Hills Adult school, NJ
Phone: 973-664-2295
Thursday, October 27, 7pm – Dealing with Negative People
Morris Community School, NJ
Phone: 973-292-2063
About Finding your happiness

Diane Lang is a Therapist, educator, author and life coach. Diane has two books: Baby steps the path from motherhood to Career and Creating balance & finding happiness. Diane works as a Therapist and also is an adjunct at Montclair State University. This blog will help educate and empower you to live your best life! For more information please visit her website: www.dlcounseling.com
This entry was posted in Abundance, adult education, beliefs, Change, coaching, Conscious living, counseling, development, dream life, Goals, Gratitude, growth, happiness, Joy, life coaching, love, personal development, positive parenting, positive psychology, Positive Psychology coaching, pro-active, psychology, self help, spirituality, therapy, transitions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

