I’m changing my thoughts

cropped-dianelanglogo61.pngThe other day I made a decision to change my thinking. I decided to follow the law of attraction thought process. What I think is what I become. I have to admit I’m not a huge fan of this but I thought what do I have to lose. If nothing changes, I gained more knowledge but what if it did change? The what if made the opportunity seem more  attractive and gave me some hope.

I decided my daily thought would be “I’m successful and have everything I need”.  A very typical statement I copied from other law of attraction students. The major change this time was I didn’t put a timeline or an expectation on it which I normally do. What I realized the expectation set me up for failure because I wanted to control it and for it to be perfection. That was a recipe for failure and stress. The deadline just added more stress to my already stressed out thought system. Something I couldn’t see before yesterday. Now that I saw, it I was just going to ask to be successful. For this to happen, you need to define what success means to you? What it looks like? It’s an individual thing. After that you say it, visualize it and then move on to your next activity for the day. I did this yesterday with nothing exciting to report.

Today marked the change. After a long crappy day, I found myself sitting at night watching a video on marketing which I never do because I always think I hate marketing, I don’t know what I’m doing, that’s someone else’s job. I have hired other people and have had very limited success probably due to my thoughts. This time I found myself watching a series on marketing and actually understanding it and being excited to try it. It made me think of a book, I have read (kind of) with not much success on the law of attraction. I pulled it out and read two chapters with such great excitement this time. It actually brought this creativity to write in my blog and it gave me some great ideas for a workshop. What this all means, I’m not sure but what I did learn without so much expectation, deadlines and perfectionism,I became open to new possibilities and opportunities which created hope and creativity.

Now I’m excited to see what the next few days, weeks and months bring and I will share the ride with you!

What are your thinking? Is it helping or hurting you?

About Finding your happiness

Diane Lang is a Therapist, educator, author and life coach. Diane has two books: Baby steps the path from motherhood to Career and Creating balance & finding happiness. Diane works as a Therapist and also is an adjunct at Montclair State University. This blog will help educate and empower you to live your best life! For more information please visit her website: www.dlcounseling.com
This entry was posted in Abundance, adult education, beliefs, Change, coaching, Conscious living, counseling, development, dream life, Goals, growth, happiness, Intention, Joy, life coaching, love, Mindfulness, pay it forward, personal development, positive parenting, positive psychology, Positive Psychology coaching, pro-active, psychology, self help, self-care, spirituality, Thoughts, transitions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

