September Happiness Challenge

September Happiness Challenge

Its month three of the happiness challenge. I hope your feeling happier! For the month of September we are adding another morning ritual. The first ritual we added to your day was gratitude. Now, I want you to add to this 3-5 positive things about yourself.
Everyday either before or after your gratitude, I want you to say 3-5 positive things about yourself. It can be anything including your skills, talents, personality traits, way you treat others, etc. There is no right or wrong. No judgement. This is for you and you only, no-one else hears what you say. With gratitude and 3-5 positive things about yourself you can say them out loud, to yourself or write them down, whatever works best for you.

There are two rules for this:

1. Try not to say the same things each day- it can be positive things about yourself in general or positive things you did that day but you must mean what you say and try not to repeat the same things.
For example: This morning I said these 3 things
I like that I have learned to set boundaries
I like that I’m very empathetic and was able to use it with a friend
I like how I have been watching my diet so I can eat healthier and feel better.

2. You can’t judge your positive thoughts – once you say the positive things, you can’t go back and start judging it or taking it back. Just let them be and move on with your day. I have had clients who feel very awkward saying anything nice about themselves without an insult right afterwards. This will change if you keep at this. Consistency is key!

For me, I have a morning routine of happiness habits. I wake up each morning and start my day off with a gratitude check and then I go into 3-5 things that are positive about myself, I say my prayers for others, I try to make sure my basic needs are met each day, meditate and then I go for my daily walk. When we add happiness habits into our life, we start feeling a shift from negative to positive.

September Workshops

Monday, September 8, 10-12pm – What Kind of Smart Are You?
Mount Saint Mary’s College, NY
Telephone: 845-565-2076

Thursday, September 11 Through October 9, 10am – Emotional Wellness Series
Rutgers University, NJ – Osher Life Long Learning
Telephone: 732-932-7233

Saturday, September 20, 2pm – Declutter Your Life & Reduce Stress
Stratford Public Library, NJ
info@stratfordnj.org

Monday, September 22, 7pm – Dealing with Loss
Paramus Community School, NJ
Telephone: 201-261-7800 Ext 3038

Monday, September 29, 6pm – Transitioning into Mid-Life
Hofstra University, NY
Telephone: 516-463-7200

About Finding your happiness

Diane Lang, practicing therapist, national speaker, educator, and certified positive psychology coach, has her master’s degree in counseling and is an adjunct in psychology at Montclair State University. She has written three books, and has been featured in various publications, and on TV and Internet shows. Diane speaks on various mental and emotional health topics including Happiness, Resiliency, Stress management, Parenting Positive Aging, Anxiety, and Depression in both teens and adults. Diane also specializes in Positive Psychology Positive Education and Positive Parenting. Thousands of individuals have benefited from Diane’s motivational and educational speaking, trainings, and coaching. Her Hands-on approach along with her background, education and experience has proven to be beneficial to all who attend her presentation. To learn more on how you could bring Diane to your organization please email dlcounselingmedia@gmail.com
This entry was posted in happiness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment