Finding your gratitude

 
I have been struggling with some medical issues in the last few months. Usually, I would spend my time getting upset over being sick and not in control. This time I decided to use my illness as a learnable lesson. What if I looked at my life and asked myself what was missing? What could I do better to take care of myself physically? Emotionally? Spiritually?
I realized that gratitude has been part of my morning routine for years but it wasn’t having the same impact it used to have. The reason was, I was just saying my gratitude without meaning. When I started paying attention to my gratitude moments in the morning, I realized I was saying the same gratitudes over and over again without meaning or thought behind it. Gratitude just became part of my morning routine like taking a shower, brushing my teeth and eating breakfast. I was doing gratitude on autopilot and needed to stop and really focus on what I was thankful for.
This was the change I needed. Maybe my latest illness was just a wake up call to really be in the present in my life and what I truly had that I didn’t appreciate or pay much attention to?  Maybe my latest illness is a wake up call to pay more Attention to all the good in my life. All the love in my life. I took the hint and started by saying Thank you to God (universe, the source) for being alive and for the wake up call. I knew I could do better and for that I’m truly grateful.
The changes in my gratitude routine:
My new gratitude routine consists of my old usual routine of asking myself everyday: What are 2-3 things I’m grateful for? but then I take it a step further and after each thing I’m grateful for I ask why? The why allows me to dig deeper and realize why I’m truly grateful.
I take some time to say my gratitude checks. I don’t rush through it, I put time and attention into it.
I do an act of showing thanks to at least one person a day. I think this step adds to my gratitude by sharing it with others.
I don’t have expectations on gratitude. Some days I’m only grateful for one thing and sometimes I struggle to find that one thing but other times my list could go on for a long time. I don’t expect to be grateful for big things or miracles, some times the best moments of thanks are for the little things. When I’m grateful for the little things, they end up becoming bigger and better.

What are you grateful for? Why?
 

SEPTEMBER 2016:
Thursday, September 15 – October 6, 1pm – Psychology in Film
Montclair Adult School, NJ
Phone: 973-744-0500 ext 2224
 
Tuesday, September 20, 7pm – Living a Mindful Life
Montclair Adult school, NJ
Phone: 973-744-0500 ext 2224
 
Wednesday, September 21, 7pm – Coaching Yourself to Success- Free Workshop
Jefferson Township Public Library, NJ
Phone: 973-208-6244
 
Saturday, September 24, 2pm – Dealing with Stress – Free Workshop
Stratford Public Library, NJ
Phone: 856-783-0602
 
Monday, September 26, 7pm – The Developing Child, Ages 3 – 6 Free Workshop
Bernard’s Township Public Library, NJ
Phone: 908-204-3031
 
Tuesday, September 27 – Tuesday, October 11, 6pm – Emotional Wellness Series
Warren Community College, NJ
Phone: 908-835-2333
About Finding your happiness

Diane Lang is a Therapist, educator, author and life coach. Diane has two books: Baby steps the path from motherhood to Career and Creating balance & finding happiness. Diane works as a Therapist and also is an adjunct at Montclair State University. This blog will help educate and empower you to live your best life! For more information please visit her website: www.dlcounseling.com
This entry was posted in Abundance, beliefs, Change, coaching, Conscious living, counseling, development, dream life, Goals, growth, happiness, Joy, life coaching, love, Mindfulness, motherhood, Parent, personal development, positive parenting, positive psychology, Positive Psychology coaching, pro-active, self help, spirituality, therapy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

